Artist feature-MOSA MOTAUNG

Artist feature-MOSA MOTAUNG

When viewing my works, a certain visual
language is activated. I communicate
through my works by using my own
techniques which I have gathered throughout
my 3rd year, experimenting and trying
new things. There is a large mixture
of dynamics and shifts when viewing my
work. My works are all influenced by my
own personal experiences, drives, likes and
dislikes. The viewer is given the platform to
create in their own mind an image of their
own when viewing my work. I do not force
the viewer to see what I want them to see,
rather allowing the viewers imagination to
interact with my works allows for my art to
transform and evolve into many things.
My artworks are a series of drawings and
paintings which I have approached in a
very unique way, where painting deals with
the detailed smaller images and drawing
deals with the enlarged images which overwhelm
the viewer. My entire collection is
black and white in colour. I have chosen to
concentrate on the sheep and its different
body parts. I have zoomed in extensively
concentrating on a particular section and
in some areas going as far as zooming into
an already zoomed in image.
Artist statement
I have become intrigued by the sheep
for about a year now. I have been having
strange dreams about sheep. Some dreams
were worrying and quite scary, yet some
were neutral. However what intrigued me
the most was that no matter how gruesome,
scary or sweet the dream had been I would
almost always wake up at peace.
I have done some thorough research on the
sheep and have discovered that this animal
appears in my dreams in a context which
mirrors my personal life. Thus I have chosen
to explore the sheep and hoped to find
some answers as to why I dream of sheep
while painting and drawing through the
images.
My aim is to evoke a feeling of strangeness,
I want the viewer to wonder, to get
consumed by these black and white dreams
that I have created. My artworks both in
drawing and painting are worked in reverse,
I have opted to use a number of
different mediums such as; acrylic for
painting and conte’.

Leave a Reply

