Artist Feature: Sinalithemba Thembinkosi Ntuli

Sinali Ntuli was born and raised in Stanger which located in Groutville. My interest in art began when I was in Estcourt High School. Later I studied Fine Art at Durban Central College. In 1999 I then moved to Johannesburg to further my studies at Dobsonville College in Soweto. That same year I was introduced to Artist Proof Studio by some of my classmates and began to study printmaking part-time. In 2002, I completed three years of Visual Arts study at Funda College.

ekurhuleniprize-sina_588594069
I started out as a painter, depicting women dressed in beads, in 2009 a client then suggested that I should try creating artworks using only beads sewn onto canvas. Since then this has been my primary medium.
I am generally concerned with our seemingly “dying” African customs. I express this concern through visuals of the beauty we posses, in-terms of our humanity as a nation. I use subject matter that is inspired by African oral traditional and cultural practices that we partake in.
This is what, i believe, resonates in my artwork.

Leave a Reply

