Loyiso Mkize

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESPainter

Artists Statement

“My gift as an artist is also a duty to enrich the world with visions that dare to break the world’s facade and inspire a greater tomorrow. The human being’s complexities and pre-occupations fascinate me and so become the subject matter where I attempt to mold a new consciousness. My art is created to shock, to scare, to evoke emotion, to touch, and ultimately to inspire. And so I’ll remain prolific in this lifelong commitment allowing my hand to be the channel between you and I. My vision belongs to the world”.

He goes on to say, “Creating visual art is a talent and gift I have enjoyed all my life. It has evolved into a tool that I use to express my views and ideas. I paint people and paint about people. Our complex nature fascinates me and therefore compels me to expressively tell our story. My work is African and celebrates the beauty and wealth running in the veins of her people. It’s in the subjects eyes, lips, skin tone/texture, dress, hair, that I draw inspiration from. The experience and stories we carry with us are the corner stones from which we mold a new identity. It is the human spirit that i aim to share in my art.”

 

 

 

Biography

Loyiso Mkize was born in 1987 in Butterworth in the Eastern Cape but studied in Cape Town where he completed a Diploma in Graphic Design at CPUT. He currently works at Strika Entertainment where he co illustrates the Supa Strikas comic book available monthly in the Sunday Times.

Loyiso is also a fine artist whose paintings are currently on show in an exhibition entitled “Reflections of inner truth”. The collection investigates the modern human experience. It reflects the people that Loyiso encounters every day – their lives andexperiences. It explores the psychological fabric of society that shapes our lives and what we perceive as the natural order of things.

The compositions are portraits coupled with erratic imagery exploding from them. Thus portraying a surreal imaginative visual of each subject’s thoughts/ experiences/ fears/ identity.

Leave a Reply

